The Last Infection By Michael W. Garza / Review


 

 

 

 

 

untitledThe Last Infection chronicles the fall of civilization and the rise of the dead and the evolution of the infected.
The infection swept across the country like a tidal wave. Survivors cling to life as the infected own the night and the dead walk the streets. Chris has endured on his own and bumping into Jake and Alicen weren’t in his plans. The young brother and sister have plans of their own, but Chris has heard too many promises of sanctuary and infection free zones. Jenn’s arrival turns his attention to the one thing he never thought he would face again, hope. They make a pact to reach the kids safe haven, but only time will tell if anyone can survive the last infection

Author Bio:

Image of Michael W. Garza

Michael W. Garza often finds himself wondering where his inspiration will come from next and in what form his imagination will bring it to life. The outcomes regularly surprise him and it’s always his ambition to amaze those curious enough to follow him and take in those results. He encourages readers to peek at his latest work as well as the material he’s published in the past. He sincerely hopes that everyone will find something that astonishes, surprises, or simply scares the heck out of you.

http://www.mwgarza.com
facebook.com/mwgarza
twitter.com/@mwgarza

MY REVIEW:

I found the last Infection to be very different from your normal zombie books. Not that I read many zombie books because I haven’t until lately and this was really one of the first ones I read. But what I have read before this did not turn me into a fan but it  didn’t make me not want to read them, it actually makes me want to read others to see if they are close to it and if anyone came up with a different idea of zombies like Mike here did. I don’t think anything can make me a fan of dead people who eat dead people. Just Nasty! 

This book however I really liked. It wasn’t just zombies , their stupid, slow and just plain annoying, now the Infected they are faster, have a thinking process which we find out a bit later in the book but is thought earlier on by Chris one of the last people to survive the infection that turned everyone. So they make the book alot more interesting because they can mimic you after they see you do something or they seemed to be progressing into something more on their own as the book went on. Even though they can do things zombies can’t their still clumsy idiots. but very deadly ones. So this book was way more interesting to me.

I liked the main character Chris, well he’s one of them, we have Jake his little sister Alicen and Jenn. theirs a few more people who come in but they get eaten so who cares. just kidding but there are more and yes they have their interesting part to play too.  But Jake and Alicen are just two kids who’s parents sacrifice themselves to save their children and they are determined to make it to this Island where their aunt and uncle are  thinking it is a safehaven of sorts but do they really know this to be true? so they meet up with Chris after trying to get some food from a vending machine which  Chris just so happens to have stolen the keys off of a dead vender zombie dude. pretty smart I think, so after a pretty intense get away from the zombie not the infected, Now they hid out in the dark so if you weren’t scared of the dark before you might be after reading this book. Beware! anyways the kids steal half of chris food and take off while he sleeps. He wakes decides to move on and what happens, he runs into these two kids again who have now dragged in a girl they meet , Jenn. Chris acts like he doesn’t care mostly all the time but he has been alone for months and come on what person doesn’t crave human contact after awhile especially when you only have the choice of being eaten or turned right?

So we have the group of four on a major journey now but Jenn wants to stop in Vega to find her parents which by the way does not end very well at all. They meet other people on the way. some bad some good. the bad are really bad and you’ll want to read this to find out cause I’m not giving it up. Theirs a lot of action in this book but not so much that that’s all their is, you get to know the characters pretty well too which I think is a plus. I really would like to know what happens after they get to the end, which is the sea on a life boat . Their On there way to the island, but I’m unclear if Chris got bit when he was hit with a zombie , yes hit, you also have to read to find out. he was rained on by zombies. jenn she doesn’t have a good fate , I didn’t mean to leave her out I really liked her and she made it to the end then big disappointment.

The only thing I’m unclear on is Chris and Jenn’s ages, I thought Chris was more of about 18ish at first but I’m wrong cause later you find he’s older but you never know his age. Jenn she has two kids so she is not a teenager but not really old, i’m  guessing late 20’s early 30’s.  We know Chris was a addict hence the act that he never cares for anyone or what happens to them, should they live or die until later because all he ever worried about was getting his next fix.. Hes ready to abandon anyone in a moments notice until Jenn. I think him and Jenn would have been a couple had she not gotten bit. As for them leaving, getting away , well the book ends. That made me mad. Unless there is going to be a next book I want to know what happened to them, did they get stuck at sea and starve to death? Did they make it to the Save Haven? give me anything not just a massive cliff hanger.

But after all I didn’t like that I just pointed out, I really did like the book. It kept me interested from the start which is rare when it comes to zombie books so its good, trust me on this. Read it you will like it, especially if your into zombie action books cause your going to get that. If you like that you get to know the characters and actually care what happens to them, I did. And just plain if you want to read something different for a change. This is the book for you. and I am saying that because I really enjoyed it.

 On a last note for Mike Garza , how the hell did people get infected in the first place and how did some not get infected? I can’t say half the world or 3/4 of the world cause you don’t really no how many survived no one does. but I need answers so either their better be another book behind this one and I find out all my questions or I’m going to be very disappointed.

 

 

 

 

 


Leave a Reply

